Lisa Elmore: 2017 Gladys Whitley Hearst Outstanding Member Honoree

Written by Sophia Lopez. Lisa Elmore – Austin native, almost – Broadway star, and all-around hilarious human being – is this year’s Outstanding Member Honoree. Currently a Project Director at TMF Health Quality Institute and immediate past president for WCA, Lisa has progressed from being an enthusiastic volunteer to stepping forward into the organization’s three-year leadership […]

Dana Marruffo: 2017 President’s Award Honoree

  Written by Jennifer Van Gilder. Dana Marruffo, Founder of Buzz Public Relations and this year’s President’s Award honoree, has been instrumental in promoting individuals and positioning companies as leaders in their respective markets for over 16 years. An active volunteer in her local community, Dana currently sits on the Board of WCA/Freelance Austin and SMBAustin; is a […]

Stephanie Chiarello-Noppenberg: 2017 Anne Durrum Robinson Creative Initiative Honoree

Written by Roberta Coffin. “All the world’s a stage,” yet who knew that one day this semi-professional ballerina would not only work with the Texas state legislature, but also become a heralded satirist and theatrical producer whose first four-weekend run was a more-than-sold-out success. Stephanie Chiarello Noppenberg, WCA’s 2017 Anne Durrum Robinson Creative Initiative Honoree, […]

Wanda Cash: 2017 Liz Carpenter Lifetime Achievement Honoree

Written by Catherine Cromer. Wanda Garner Cash, a community newspaper veteran with more than 25 years’ experience and former Associate Director of the University of Texas School of Journalism, is this year’s Lifetime Achievement Honoree. During her 10 years at UT, Wanda served as a clinical professor, the first Fellow to the S. Griffin Singer Professorship, […]

Valerie Salinas-Davis: 2017 Outstanding Austin Communicator Honoree

Written by Kristen Hicks. Valerie Salinas-Davis, founder and CEO of EnviroMedia, is this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Austin Communicator award. In her day-to-day work, Valerie guides clients toward innovative strategies that can improve both profitability and sustainability. She facilitates sustainability visioning for Fortune 500 CEOs, and is sought after to speak at national water, […]

Eleanor Moore: 2017 Gene Barnwell Waugh Mentor Honoree

Written by Maria Cammack.    Eleanor Moore is this year’s recipient of the Gene Barnwell Waugh Mentor Award.  Eleanor was the Director of Scholarships and Donor Relations for the Texas Exes, UT Austin’s alumni association, and official Den Mother, for 25 years before retiring in 2011. Under her leadership, more than 14,000 UT students received more […]

Honoring Lisa Maxwell: Leadership Award Recipient

By: Andrea K. Citrin Gardner On April 20, Women Communicators of Austin will honor Lisa Maxwell, CRM specialist and Marketing Consultant at AVENDE, with the organization’s Leadership Award. The Leadership Award recognizes outstanding Austin-area communicators who have demonstrated a commitment to the community while positively impacting others in the field of communications with their involvement […]

Meet Scholarship Winner Hannah Thornby

By Marcie Lasseigne Hannah Thornby, a junior English Writing major concentrating on Print Journalism at St. Edward’s University, has a passion for writing. Moving from Portland, Ore., to pursue her dreams at St. Edward’s, she has embraced Austin, college life and communications. She’s currently studying abroad in Angers, France, this semester and maintaining a blog, […]

Announcing WCA Scholarship Winner Christina Wiese

By Rosemary Hook Women Communicators of Austin awards Christina Wiese the Jo Caldwell Meyer Scholarship at the 40th Annual Banner Brunch, held on Saturday, April 20 at the Omni Hotel in downtown Austin. The Jo Caldwell Meyer Scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate excellence in academics and extracurricular activities as they pursue careers in […]

Congratulations WCA Scholarship Winner Liza Winkler

By Ellen Decareau Women Communicators of Austin will award Liza Winkler the Jo Caldwell Meyer Scholarship at the 40th Annual Banner Brunch on Saturday, April 20 in Austin, TX. The scholarship is awarded to students who demonstrate excellence in academics and extracurricular activities as they pursue careers in the field of communications. The Texas State […]