Lisa Elmore: 2017 Gladys Whitley Hearst Outstanding Member Honoree

Written by Sophia Lopez. Lisa Elmore – Austin native, almost – Broadway star, and all-around hilarious human being – is this year’s Outstanding Member Honoree. Currently a Project Director at TMF Health Quality Institute and immediate past president for WCA, Lisa has progressed from being an enthusiastic volunteer to stepping forward into the organization’s three-year leadership […]

Dana Marruffo: 2017 President’s Award Honoree

  Written by Jennifer Van Gilder. Dana Marruffo, Founder of Buzz Public Relations and this year’s President’s Award honoree, has been instrumental in promoting individuals and positioning companies as leaders in their respective markets for over 16 years. An active volunteer in her local community, Dana currently sits on the Board of WCA/Freelance Austin and SMBAustin; is a […]

Stephanie Chiarello-Noppenberg: 2017 Anne Durrum Robinson Creative Initiative Honoree

Written by Roberta Coffin. “All the world’s a stage,” yet who knew that one day this semi-professional ballerina would not only work with the Texas state legislature, but also become a heralded satirist and theatrical producer whose first four-weekend run was a more-than-sold-out success. Stephanie Chiarello Noppenberg, WCA’s 2017 Anne Durrum Robinson Creative Initiative Honoree, […]

Wanda Cash: 2017 Liz Carpenter Lifetime Achievement Honoree

Written by Catherine Cromer. Wanda Garner Cash, a community newspaper veteran with more than 25 years’ experience and former Associate Director of the University of Texas School of Journalism, is this year’s Lifetime Achievement Honoree. During her 10 years at UT, Wanda served as a clinical professor, the first Fellow to the S. Griffin Singer Professorship, […]

Valerie Salinas-Davis: 2017 Outstanding Austin Communicator Honoree

Written by Kristen Hicks. Valerie Salinas-Davis, founder and CEO of EnviroMedia, is this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Austin Communicator award. In her day-to-day work, Valerie guides clients toward innovative strategies that can improve both profitability and sustainability. She facilitates sustainability visioning for Fortune 500 CEOs, and is sought after to speak at national water, […]

Eleanor Moore: 2017 Gene Barnwell Waugh Mentor Honoree

Written by Maria Cammack.    Eleanor Moore is this year’s recipient of the Gene Barnwell Waugh Mentor Award.  Eleanor was the Director of Scholarships and Donor Relations for the Texas Exes, UT Austin’s alumni association, and official Den Mother, for 25 years before retiring in 2011. Under her leadership, more than 14,000 UT students received more […]

Banner Brunch Award Nominations: the ‘2-Minute Pre-Nomination’

Written by the Banner Awards Selection Committee.  Would you like to nominate a high profile, truly deserving Austin communicator for a Banner Award, but you don’t know them well enough to complete the nomination application? Problem solved!   From now until January 25 WCA members may submit a 2-Minute Pre-Nomination! Along with your suggested nomination […]

Women Communicators of Austin Connect at 2014 Banner Brunch

By Catie Corcoran The 41st annual Banner Brunch, held on April 12 at the Radisson Hotel & Suites, invited all of us to embrace the theme of Growing Stronger Together. It was a morning of elegance, mimosas and old and new connections. Even more than that, the rooms were filled with a strong sense of […]

A Legacy: Gene Barnwell Waugh

By Pamela Baggett-Wallis This year, we renamed our Mentor Award the Gene Barnwell Waugh Mentor Award. Jenny Magic and Jane Baxter Lynn received this prestigious award for their commitment to mentoring other professionals. You may not  know Gene personally, so here’s a bit more about her. Gene Barnwell Waugh’s communication career began as a child […]

Special Thanks to our Banner Brunch Sponsors

WCA sincerely appreciates the support of this year’s Banner Brunch sponsors who make it possible for us to continue our tradition of recognizing outstanding professionals in all areas of communications. This year’s sponsors are: Anniversary Sponsors Julie Tereshchuk Mother’s Milk Bank Connoisseur Sponsors Frost Bank Ann Friou Communications Devotee Sponsors Ann Daly Clarity Coaching Michele Schwartz – […]